Introducing LCHR’s Advisory Group

Introducing LCHR’s Advisory Group

The Labour Campaign for Human Rights is very pleased to introduce its Advisory Group. The group has 14 members who will help to guide LCHR’s activities, together with our Honorary President Lord Judd. They include Labour parliamentarians and outside human rights activists and experts. LCHR thanks the members of the group for their support and confidence and looks forward to working with them all going forward.

Our Advisory Group in full:

Rt Hon Sadiq Khan MP

Sadiq Khan is Labour’s Shadow Justice Secretary. He was a human rights lawyer before being elected to Parliament to represent Tooting. He has also served as Chair of Liberty.

Baroness Glenys Kinnock

Baroness Kinnock is a Labour peer, President of the Labour Campaign for International Development, and council member at the Overseas Development Institute.

Kerry McCarthy MP

Kerry McCarthy is Shadow Foreign Office Minister with special responsibility for human rights. She is MP for Bristol East.

Stephen Twigg MP

Stephen Twigg is Shadow Justice Minister and MP for Liverpool, West Derby.

Andy Slaughter MP

Andy Slaughter is Shadow Justice Minister and MP for Hammersmith. He is a leading member of Labour Friends of Palestine and the Middle East.

Francesca Klug OBE

Francesca Klug is a human rights expert and Professorial Research Fellow at the London School of Economics.

Keir Starmer QC

Keir Starmer is a human rights lawyer and former Director of Public Prosecutions and Head of the Crown Prosecution Service.

Neal Lawson

Neal Lawson is a political commentator, author, former adviser to Gordon Brown, and Chair of Compass.

Sandra Osborne MP

Sandra Osborne is MP for Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock. She is a member of Parliament’s Foreign Affairs Committee and Co-Chair of the APPG on Afghanistan.

Richard Howitt MEP

Richard Howitt is MEP for the East of England. He is a prominent member of the European Parliament’s Sub-Committee on Human Rights and is Labour’s parliamentary spokesperson on foreign affairs.

Katy Clark MP

Katy Clark is MP for North Ayrshire and Arran. She is a member of Parliament’s Committees on Arms Export Controls.

Dr Purna Sen

Purna Sen is Labour’s PPC for Brighton Pavilion. She is Deputy Director of the Institute of Public Affairs at LSE and former Head of Human Rights in the Commonwealth Secretariat.

Baroness Helena Kennedy

Baroness Kennedy is a Labour peer and President of the Helena Kennedy Foundation. She is a member of Parliament’s Joint Human Rights Committee.

Willie Bain MP

Willie Bain is MP for Glasgow North East. He is Chair of the Associate Parliamentary Group for the Republic of Sudan and South Sudan.